CMA Program

CMA Program


The Institute of Certified Management Accountants


The Institute of Management Accountants (IMA) established the Institute of Certified Management Accountants (ICMA) in 1972 to implement and administer the Certified Management Accountant (CMA) Program. The ICMA evaluates the credentials of candidates, administers the examination, grants certificates, and ensure that CMAs continue to meet the professional requirements necessary to retain their certificates in good standing. The ICMA is governed by the ICMA Board of Regents. The board members are appointed by the president of the IMA for three-year terms, with one-third of the members appointed each year. The ICMA staff plans and implements the ICMA activities within the framework of policies and procedures established by the ICMA Board of Regents.

Why Seek Professional Certification?

  • Standards directly related to today's complex and changing business environment.

  • Confirm your knowledge of accounting, finance, and important related fields

  • Demonstrate your commitment to personal professional development and lifelong learning

  • Distinguish yourself as a business professional who is committed to a strict code of ethics.

  • Enhance your self-confidence, your sense of accomplishment, and your resume.

  • Get a competitive advantage and faster career advancement


 All ICMA certification exams are given in a computer based format through Prometric Test Sites  Candidates are authorized for an examination by the ICMA, and then schedule the exam at a PrometricTest Site. All examination parts (Parts 1 and 2) are available January, February, May, June, September and October. Approximately six weeks from the end of the month in which you tested, ICMA will mail your exam results to you.  To be eligible for CMA certification, you must fulfill all of the following requirements:


1. Membership in the Institute of Management Accountants

2. Paying the Entrance Fee

3. Satisfying the Education Qualification

4. Satisfying the Experience Qualification

5. Passing scores for all required examination parts

6. Compliance with the IMA Statement of Ethical Professional Practice


See for further details.